A List of Books by Mark Twain

(1867) The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County (fiction)

(1868) General Washington’s Body-Servant (fiction)

(1868) My Late Senatorial Secretaryship (fiction)

(1869) The Innocents Abroad (non-fiction travel)

(1870-71) Memoranda (monthly column for The Galaxy magazine)

(1871) Mark Twain’s (Burlesque – Autobiography and First Romance)

(1872) Roughing It (non-fiction)

(1873) The Gilded Age: A Tale of Today (fiction, made into a play)

(1875) Sketches New and Old (fictional stories)

(1876) The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (fiction)

(1876) Old Times on the Mississippi (non-fiction)

(1876) A Murder, a Mystery, and a Marriage (fiction)

(1877) A True Story and the Recent Carnival of Crime (stories)

(1877) The Invalid’s Story (Fiction)

(1878) Punch, Brothers, Punch! and other Sketches (fiction)

(1880) A Tramp Abroad (travel)

(1880) 1601: Conversation, as it was by the Social Fireside, in the Time of the Tudors (fiction)

(1882) The Prince and the Pauper (fiction)

(1883) Life on the Mississippi (mainly non-fiction)

(1884) Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (fiction)

(1889) A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court (fiction)

(1892) The American Claimant (fiction)

(1892) Merry Tales (fiction)

(1892) Those Extraordinary Twins (fiction)

(1893) The £1,000,000 Bank Note and Other New Stories (fictional stories)

(1894) The Tragedy of Pudd’nhead Wilson (fiction)

(1894) Tom Sawyer Abroad (fiction)

(1896) Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc (fiction)

(1896) Tom Sawyer, Detective (fiction)

(1897) How to Tell a Story and other Essays (non-fictional essays)

(1897) Following the Equator (non-fiction travel)

(1898) Is He Dead? (play)

(1900) A Salutation Speech From the Nineteenth Century to the Twentieth (essay)

(1900) The Man That Corrupted Hadleyburg (fiction)

(1901) The Battle Hymn of the Republic, Updated (satire)

(1901) To the Person Sitting in Darkness (essay)

(1901) Edmund Burke on Croker and Tammany (political satire)

(1902) A Double Barrelled Detective Story (fiction)

(1904) A Dog’s Tale (fiction)

(1904) Extracts from Adam’s Diary (fiction)

(1905) King Leopold’s Soliloquy (political satire)

(1905) The War Prayer (fiction)

(1906) The $30,000 Bequest and Other Stories (fiction)

(1906) What Is Man? (essay)

(1906) Eve’s Diary (fiction)

(1907) Christian Science (non-fiction)

(1907) A Horse’s Tale (fiction)

(1907) Is Shakespeare Dead? (non-fiction)

(1909) Captain Stormfield’s Visit to Heaven (fiction)

(1909) Letters from the Earth (fiction, published posthumously)

(1910) Queen Victoria’s Jubilee (non-fiction)

(1912) My Platonic Sweetheart (dream journal, possibly non-fiction)

(1916) The Mysterious Stranger (fiction, possibly not by Twain, published posthumously)

(1924) Mark Twain’s Autobiography (non-fiction, published posthumously)

(1935) Mark Twain’s Notebook (published posthumously)

(1962) Letters from the Earth (posthumous, edited by Bernard DeVoto)

(1969) No. 44, The Mysterious Stranger (fiction, published posthumously)

(1985) Concerning the Jews (published posthumously)

(1992) Mark Twain’s Weapons of Satire: Anti-Imperialist Writings on the Philippine-American War. Jim Zwick, ed. (Syracuse University Press) ISBN 0-8156-0268-5 (previously uncollected, published posthumously)

(1995) The Bible According to Mark Twain: Writings on Heaven, Eden, and the Flood (published posthumously)

(2010) Autobiography of Mark Twain Volume I (edited by Harriet Elinor Smith)

(2013) Autobiography of Mark Twain Volume II (edited by Harriet Elinor Smith)

(2015) Autobiography of Mark Twain Volume III (edited by Harriet Elinor Smith)

(2017) The Purloining of Prince Oleomargarine (previously unfinished work, finished by Philip C. Stead, illustrated by Erin Stead)

Mark Twain Box Sets, Compilations, and Anthologies

The Complete Short Stories of Mark Twain

The Wit and Wisdom of Mark Twain: A Book of Quotations

Mark Twain Autobiographies

Books About Mark Twain

Movies Inspired by Mark Twain Stories